A peek inside my sad, sad brain

th.jpegI realized something after hitting the “Publish” key on my last post: It was my 100th post. (Cue the horns and confetti.)

I started this blog in October 2014 because I was bored as hell at work. I was in a job where there was little work for me, but they paid me an exorbitant salary for doing nothing and I let them. Typing away on this blog at least made me look busy. Of course, they still laid me and lots of other people off when they realized none of us were actually working, so looking busy just delayed the inevitable.

Anyway, by the time they laid me off, I was kind of hooked by this, so I kept at it. Here are some fun (for me, at least) facts:

  • More than 2000 different people have read at least one post of mine.
  • My posts have been read 4,136 times by readers in 270 countries.
  • My readers seem to check out of work early on Tuesdays, because my stats show the most popular time for readers to check out my blog is 4 p.m. Tuesday. (Remember, gentle readers: look busy.)
  • My biggest readership day was Nov. 17, 2014 when a friend tweeted out my review and 117 unique readers came to my site. (I wish I could tell you what the post was, but it would take too long to find it and I’m killing time at work. Kidding.)
  • I have 30 email followers and yes, I understand how pathetic that is. But I’m heartened that I have 256 social media followers, whatever the hell that is.

The last time I passed a milestone, I introduced you to my Commonplace Book, a collection of quotes I’ve read that have moved me for some reason. So, today I do that again. Happy reading.

From George Eliot’s “Middlemarch:” “The troublesome ones in a family are usually either the wits or the idiots.” (If you’re wondering, I happen to be both.)

From Edward Albee’s “The Play About the Baby:” “I have a troubling sense of what should be — rather than what is.” (Ever the sad refrain of a dreamer.)

From “No Country for Old Men” by Cormac McCarthy: “You wear out, Ed Tom. All the time you spend trying to get back what’s been took from you, there’s more going out the door.” (That’s a lesson I, somehow, keep having to relearn.)

From J.R. Moehringer’s “The Tender Bar:” “Life is all a matter of choosing which voices to tune in and which to tune out.”

Reading introduces me to those voices I may choose to tune in to; and I find it encouraging to discover useful insights in places I never thought of looking.

 

 

 

What do you have to say about this?

