The Classics Challenge is back with new menu items and a few leftovers

For the last few years, my wife and I have challenged ourselves to read classics. I confess we stole the idea from this person who actually offers prizes for people who participate. So few readers of this blog let me know whether they’ve joined me, and even fewer comment or let me know the book they’re reading that I offer no incentives except the joys of reading classics.

Today I offer the categories for the 2017 Classics Challenge. Play along and let me know how you’re doing. Remember, our arbitrary ruling on what defines a classic is that it must be at least 50 years old.

Three leftovers from last year are:

  • A work that was banned
  • A work written in the 19th Century
  • A work written in another language

New this year are:

  • A work by an author who is new to you
  • Something written by an ancient Greek (if this sounds daunting, remember it could be a play)
  • A work by a woman
  • A biography of a writer or a memoir
  • A work written in the 1930s
  • Something written about or for children
  • A work set in another country
  • A work that is essentially a love story

In the past, I’ve chosen the categories so we’re all reading the same thing at the same time. The idea was to create a dialogue, but that didn’t materialize, so feel free to read yours in whatever order you want to. Right now, I’m reading Dalton Trumbo’s “Johnny Got His Gun,” for the banned book category.

And if you want to know why we do this, it’s not for the fame or the fortune. Here’s my take on why.

Get reading!

3 thoughts on “The Classics Challenge is back with new menu items and a few leftovers

  1. Pingback: ‘Groucho and Me:’ Light on details, but who really cares? – Shelf Improvement

  2. Jamie Krenz

    I’m joining you this year! I usually set myself a reading goal, but I always focus on quantity. This will be a great way to get be to branch out of my usual genres. I’m going to start with “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.” A children’s classic I’ve been wanting to read again.

    Like

What do you have to say about this?

