Hey Classics Challengers: Let’s explore brave new worlds

I’m flagging, it’s true.

I’ve not been reading as much as I usually do and I’m concerned about it only because of you, Gentle Readers, who are dying to know what the next category is. You are, aren’t you.

imgresFor those of you still with us, there are only four more categories, and we’re done for the year. In honor of the start of the new school year, let’s step into a world that’s been completely new, with issues and feelings and events we have yet to imagine.

My wife chose this category, and I thought it was a good one. But it’s been difficult to choose. Looking through my shelves and boxes I found “1984,” which I’ve never read, and “Brave New World,” which I’ve never read, “A Clockwork Orange,” which I’ve never read, “War of the Worlds,” which I’ve never read, and “A Canticle for Liebowitz,” which I’ve not read either. If I expand the category to what it was originally—a book set in an alternate world—I have several more to choose from.

Makes me wonder why I keep gathering science fiction books I simply don’t read.

In the bottom of one of my mustiest boxes I found my quarry, and I chose it only because I had just read one of those incessant lists my friends forward on Facebook about the 50 or 75 or 100 or 2,000 books you must read before you die. Frank Herbert’s “Dune” is on every damn list.

I remember seeing a movie based on this book a long time ago, but I only saw it because it had Francesca Annis, on whom I had, and may still do, a huge crush. I remember the mammoth sand worms that inhabited the Dune desert and nothing more. (I wonder what Freud would have to say about that.)

It’s not without trepidation that I have decided to dive into a 479-page book that has an additional 40 some pages of appendices and a freaking glossary.

You may not hear from me for another little while. Wish me luck

2 thoughts on “Hey Classics Challengers: Let’s explore brave new worlds

  1. Pingback: Hey Classics Challengers (and everyone else): I’m back from a distant planet | Shelf Improvement

  2. I actually read “Dune” in high school. I remember I liked it. The movie came out, which was “eh.” The mini-series followed, which was better. Anyway, best of luck. After much evaluation, I am diving into Ray Bradbury’s “Something Wicked This Way Comes,” having received a glowing recommendation from someone I trust. Drawn in on the very first page, which says something. I can actually smell the crisp October air. Think I might finish first this month, which is good cause I have lines to memorize! 🙂

    Like

What do you have to say about this?

