Hey Classics Challengers: We’re halfway done

Geez, summer used to be a time of lying around and reading on the beach. These days it’s work, the work you do at home and trying to find new ways to keep your kids from killing each other before school starts in a couple weeks.

That’s why I haven’t posted. This will be a quick, sweet post with the next assignment in the Classics Challenge 2015.

So far, if anyone is still with me, we read a novel by a woman, a novel by a Russian, a novel that won a Pulitzer Prize, a novel whose title is a person’s name and a collection of short stories. It’s time to get real.

cross creekTime to read a piece of classic nonfiction. I’ve chosen Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings’ memoir “Cross Creek.”

I nearly chose to read her most famous book “The Yearling” for the Pulitzer Prize category, because I had recently pressed the movie on the kids and it was a film I seem to remember watching a lot as a child. Amazingly, it still holds up pretty well, for the corny story it tells.

I also remember seeing the movie “Cross Creek” with Mary Steenburgen and Alfre Woodard. I sat right between them. (Rimshot here.) Just kidding, I’ve never met either of them.

Plus, I found the book in my basement and, as regular readers know, I’m trying to rid my basement of old, musty books purchased at book sales or unabashedly scrounged from others purging their own bookshelves.

Rawlings used a small inheritance to purchase an orange grove in about the most backwoods area of Florida possible, then moved there to write and raise oranges, I guess. She made the area and its people famous in her novels and short stories, sometimes negatively and once lost a lawsuit claiming invasion of privacy by a woman on whom she had based a character. She had to pay the woman $1.

I have to confess, I’ve begun reading it, and it’s charming as hell so far. Here’s to hoping she can keep it that way for nearly 300 pages.

As usual, I’ll let you know.

Use the comments below to let me know if you’re still with us and what you’re reading. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “Hey Classics Challengers: We’re halfway done

  1. Since “Death” or “Dead” has been a titular theme for me, I was thinking to read *The Tibetan Book of the Dead* or lighten things up with *The [Japanese] Book of Tea,* but now I’m leaning toward *The Prophet.* But is that considered non-fiction? (Am still enjoying *A Death in the Family.*)

    Like

    1. Your last sentence is funny, or I’m tired: Funnier out of context: I am still enjoying a death in the family. 🙂 I don’t consider The Prophet a nonfiction, but I’m not the fiction police. Read away!

      Like

What do you have to say about this?

